As an elementary school student, I looked forward to the end of summer, because it meant the beginning of a new school year. Anything was possible. I had a brand-new Lisa Frank trapper keeper to prove it. As an adult, the transition between seasons is less defined, but still present. Although I no longer have a first day of school to signal summer’s end, I can sense the arrival of fall. Summer is permissive. In summer, I can eat chips and dip for lunch, ignore my to-do list in favor of watching the sunset, and leave my bed unmade. Fall feels less accepting of these things.

Although I’m not quite ready to embrace the productivity I feel fall demands, fall flavors are already tempting me. This week, after a long, lazy weekend in Kansas City with my family celebrating my little niece’s first birthday (her reaction to the cake was priceless), I needed these Apple Cinnamon Overnight Oats to transition me back into real-life mode. As it turns out, waking up just one quick mason-jar shake away from a breakfast as satisfying and delicious as overnight oatmeal is a very powerful thing.

About These Delicious Overnight Oats

If you’ve never tried overnight oats, I am begging you to give this apple cinnamon overnight oatmeal recipe a try. Overnight oats are incredibly filling, packed with super foods, and taste so rich and decadent, you’ll think you are eating an old-fashioned pudding, instead of a wholesome meal. Here’s the rundown of overnight oatmeal ingredients: uncooked rolled oats (I like rolled for the best, most decadent texture, though quick oats will work too), Greek yogurt (extra protein and maximum richness), flaxseeds (omega-3 power), and Almond Breeze Unsweetened Vanilla Almondmilk. I’m once again teaming up with Almond Breeze to share this recipe, because its Unsweetened Vanilla Almondmilk is my go-to for smoothies, cereals, and my overnight oats too. I love its light, nutty flavor and creamy texture—both are perfect for overnight oats!

To make overnight oats, simply layer the ingredients, then let them sit in the refrigerator while you sleep. That’s it. Overnight, the oatmeal softens and thickens into a filling breakfast pudding that will have you leaping out of your bed to enjoy it. I like to put my overnight oats in a mason jar, because the jar is easy to store and makes me feel hipster and cool, but any airtight container (or even a bowl with plastic wrap over the top) will do.

Because overnight oats can last up to five days in the refrigerator, I usually make a few jars at once. For less than 10 minutes of prep work, I can have breakfast covered for the week.

You can customize overnight oats to any flavors you love. Today’s recipe is inspired by apple pie. I added warm fall spices like cinnamon and nutmeg, pure maple syrup, a diced honeycrisp apple, and a handful of toasted walnuts and dried cranberries. I love the way the creamy oats and yogurt contrast with the crisp apples, crunchy walnuts, and chewy, sweet cranberries. It truly is like apple pie, in healthy overnight oatmeal form! Since overnight oats can be made ahead, this recipe is ideal for quick back to school breakfasts. Overnight oats are also portable, so you can easily grab a container on your way out the door. You’ll be the envy of the office when you open the lid and dig in!

More Make Ahead Breakfast Recipes

Coconut Chia Pudding Freezer Breakfast Quesadilla Peanut Butter Oatmeal Breakfast Bars Slow Cooker Banana Bread Overnight Steel Cut Oats

Tools Used to Make This Recipe

Mason jars I didn’t peel my apples, but if you prefer to, this peeler is a good one.

I am sharing the recipe in partnership with Almond Breeze. Thanks for supporting the brands and companies that make it possible for me to continue creating quality content for you!

Apple Cinnamon Overnight Oats  Easy Breakfast     WellPlated com - 31Apple Cinnamon Overnight Oats  Easy Breakfast     WellPlated com - 40Apple Cinnamon Overnight Oats  Easy Breakfast     WellPlated com - 37Apple Cinnamon Overnight Oats  Easy Breakfast     WellPlated com - 54Apple Cinnamon Overnight Oats  Easy Breakfast     WellPlated com - 35Apple Cinnamon Overnight Oats  Easy Breakfast     WellPlated com - 23Apple Cinnamon Overnight Oats  Easy Breakfast     WellPlated com - 74Apple Cinnamon Overnight Oats  Easy Breakfast     WellPlated com - 73Apple Cinnamon Overnight Oats  Easy Breakfast     WellPlated com - 91