This idea that simple is often better in cooking is a lesson I know I’m going to keep learning over and over. I might even have to eat a few extra blueberry oat bars to continually refresh my memory. It’s a hard order, but life lessons are life lessons, and it’s important that I stay sharp. I adapted these Blueberry Oatmeal Bars from one of the all-time most popular recipes on my site, these healthy Strawberry Oatmeal Bars. Both are fresh, fruity, and showered in buttery crumble topping. Both need only one bowl to prepare. Both even clock in at approximately 100 calories. Swap that ice cream I mentioned earlier for a scoop of Greek yogurt, and you can be eating baked strawberry or baked blueberry bars at breakfast.

Although I’m not going to be committing myself to a single fruit bar recipe for the rest of my life anytime soon (particularly with such delights as Caramel Apple Bars and Cherry Bars to consider), these Blueberry Oatmeal Bars do have a serious advantage over any other oatmeal crumble bar I’ve ever baked: blueberries take exactly zero prep work. Blueberries don’t need to be sliced like strawberries, pitted like cherries, or peeled like apples. In fact, you don’t need to do another blessed thing, other than prevent yourself from eating them all before you’ve finished the recipe. It feels especially appropriate to be sharing this Blueberry Oatmeal Bar recipe today, because I’m currently in a place that does simplicity perhaps better than any other: Italy. In case you missed Tuesday’s update, I’m spending five days in Verona learning all about how fresh pasta is made, then heading to Paris for a few days to revisit all of my favorite Parisian bakeries and chocolate shops. ? Be sure to follow my Instagram (I’ll be sharing both posts and stories), and I’ll eventually be sharing a recap of my trip here too. Wishing you all a sweet weekend, with a pan of Blueberry Oatmeal Bars to go along with it!

Recipe Adaptations

To Make Gluten Free. Be sure to use certified gluten-free oats like these and swap the white whole wheat flour for a 1:1 baking blend (I’ve had good luck with this one). To Use Frozen Blueberries. I have not tried this recipe with frozen, thawed blueberries, but I think that it would work. Be sure to thaw the blueberries completely first. To Double the Recipe. The recipe can be doubled and baked in a 9×13-inch baking pan. The bars will be a bit thicker but still delicious.

More Blueberry Recipes

Blueberry Bread Healthy Blueberry Muffins Blueberry Buckle

Favorite 8×8 inch baking pan Parchment paper (I love these pre-cut sheets) Blueberry Oatmeal Bars  One Bowl Recipe     WellPlated com - 28Blueberry Oatmeal Bars  One Bowl Recipe     WellPlated com - 3Blueberry Oatmeal Bars  One Bowl Recipe     WellPlated com - 89Blueberry Oatmeal Bars  One Bowl Recipe     WellPlated com - 61Blueberry Oatmeal Bars  One Bowl Recipe     WellPlated com - 95