Deck the halls with boughs of holly—and a mug of easy hot chocolate— fa-la-la-la-la, la-la-la-la! To me, there’s nothing more holiday than spending a chilly December or January afternoon watching a Hallmark holiday moving while sipping on a mug of easy hot chocolate. Trust me, I know How to Make Hot Chocolate. To date, I have a number of homemade and easy hot chocolate mixes under my belt, such as this Crockpot Hot Chocolate and French Hot Chocolate. When I need hot chocolate for one or I’m low on ingredients, this easy hot chocolate recipe is ideal. For years, I was tied to the instant hot chocolate packets in the microwave because they are convenient, but I’ve never been totally comfortable with their ingredients or their lackluster flavor. Now that I’ve discovered how to make a heavenly, easy hot chocolate with only TWO core ingredients, I’ll never go back to store-bought mixes again.

Why I Love This Easy Hot Chocolate

It’s just as quick and easy as a mix, but it tastes far, far more wonderful.It’s more affordable than store-bought mixes.I can control the ingredients (read: add more chocolate).No corn syrup or other artificial stuff added.I can make as large or as small a batch as I please (the recipe below is hot chocolate for one cup, but feel free to multiply as needed).The hot chocolate customization possibilities are endless.

How to Make Easy Hot Chocolate

Are you ready for this easy hot chocolate recipe hack? All you need is milk (any kind) and chocolate chips. That’s it! Melt them together on the stove, and in a few short minutes, you have a homemade, easy hot chocolate that puts the packets to shame.

The Ingredients

Milk. Any kind you like. I usually stick with 2% milk to try and make my cocoa healthy…ish, like this Healthy Hot Chocolate, (and milk has protein and calcium after all!). If you prefer whole milk for more creaminess, be my guest!Chocolate Chips. Skip the cocoa powder (save it for these Brownie Bites) and instead reach for the semi-sweet chocolate chips in your pantry. For an even richer homemade hot cocoa mix, choose a 65% or greater bittersweet chocolate—Trader Joe’s and Ghiradelli make some of the BEST chocolate for easy hot cocoa.

The Directions

Storage Tips

To Store. Let cool to room temperature then store in a covered container for up to 1 day in the fridge.To Reheat. Warm in a microwave-safe mug in the microwave or in a saucepan on the stovetop until steaming.

Small Whisk. SO HANDY. I use this 99.9% more often than my larger whisk.Metal Measuring Cups. I use this set daily for cooking and baking.Festive Mug. Because the best homemade hot cocoa comes served in a holiday mug.

Tonight, set the packet aside, put on your fuzzy slippers, and curl up with a steaming mug of this easy homemade hot chocolate.

Chocolate Peppermint Covered Pretzels

1 hr

Peanut Butter Blossom Cookies

4 hrs 40 mins

Mint Brownies

3 hrs Leave a rating below in the comments and let me know how you liked the recipe. Holiday lights and sequined tree skirts are optional but encouraged.

Hot Buttered Bourbon

10 mins

Mulled Wine

35 mins

White Spiced Wine

1 hr 5 mins

Easy Hot Chocolate  For One or a Crowd    WellPlated com - 49Easy Hot Chocolate  For One or a Crowd    WellPlated com - 46Easy Hot Chocolate  For One or a Crowd    WellPlated com - 41Easy Hot Chocolate  For One or a Crowd    WellPlated com - 78Easy Hot Chocolate  For One or a Crowd    WellPlated com - 84Easy Hot Chocolate  For One or a Crowd    WellPlated com - 72Easy Hot Chocolate  For One or a Crowd    WellPlated com - 34Easy Hot Chocolate  For One or a Crowd    WellPlated com - 59Easy Hot Chocolate  For One or a Crowd    WellPlated com - 18Easy Hot Chocolate  For One or a Crowd    WellPlated com - 45Easy Hot Chocolate  For One or a Crowd    WellPlated com - 79Easy Hot Chocolate  For One or a Crowd    WellPlated com - 33Easy Hot Chocolate  For One or a Crowd    WellPlated com - 46Easy Hot Chocolate  For One or a Crowd    WellPlated com - 32Easy Hot Chocolate  For One or a Crowd    WellPlated com - 83Easy Hot Chocolate  For One or a Crowd    WellPlated com - 89