For my sisters, dad, and me, weekend breakfast was a sacred ritual. My dad took time to cook us something special every weekend, always with a side of bacon (recommended: Oven Baked Bacon or Air Fryer Bacon). While we got “fancy” with our pancakes every now and then (see Banana Oatmeal Pancakes and the Apple Cinnamon Pancakes in my cookbook), classic fluffy pancakes were the ones my dad made most. I lost my dad very suddenly when he was just 45 years old. Today would be his 61st birthday. Cooking pancakes keeps me feeling connected to him.

My dad’s easy fluffy pancake recipe was directly out of an old, beat-up copy of the Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook (the pancake page was very crusty).We always had the ingredients around—flour, milk, eggs, baking powder and soda, a touch of canola oil, and sugar. By the time I was 10, he knew it by heart.The recipe in the Better Homes most recent edition (the one on my shelf) has been updated to a buttermilk pancake recipe, but buttermilk wasn’t listed as an ingredient in the original one my dad used.We didn’t even use the old buttermilk substitution trick of making fluffy pancakes with vinegar, and they still tasted FAB.

Translation: these pancakes were EASY and you don’t need to buy buttermilk. Huzzah! Despite their thickness, my dad’s pancakes remained pillowy soft and melted on my tongue like the daintiest of flapjacks (if you are a fan of tender pancakes, be sure to check out Coconut Flour Pancakes). I realize that with a few rounds of Google, I could find my dad’s version of this fluffy pancake recipe, but to be honest with you, I’d rather not. Between the Peach Pancakes and Oatmeal Pancakes that I’m busy dreaming up (and devouring) for this little corner of the internet, it’s not often that I stir together a simple batch of pancakes like these. I like not obsessing over them. The version of fluffy pancakes I’m giving you today is my favorite rendition so far. They’re pretty much perfect, especially when made with love.

How to Make Fluffy Pancakes

You don’t need to make fluffy pancakes with pancake mix. Homemade pancakes are one of the easiest breakfasts to cook from scratch. The taste (and the love they show) make them worth it every time.

The Ingredients

Flour. All-purpose flour helps make sure these pancakes are light and fluffy. Sugar. For a sweet, tender, and moist pancake. Baking Powder + Baking Soda. What causes a pancake to be fluffy and rise? These two ingredients are key. They work together to keep the batter light and airy, creating fluffier pancakes. Milk. The all-important liquid agent in our pancake batter.

Egg. Gives the pancakes structure. The yolk is also responsible for added richness and color.

Canola Oil. Helps keep the pancakes moist. Vanilla. The secret to a truly delicious pancake (in my opinion). A touch of vanilla makes them taste especially warm and cozy.

The Directions

Storage Tips

To Store. Refrigerate pancakes in an airtight storage container for up to 4 days. To Reheat. Rewarm leftovers on a baking sheet in the oven at 350 degrees F or in the microwave. To Freeze. Place pancakes in a single layer on a baking sheet and freeze until solid. Transfer the frozen pancakes to an airtight freezer-safe storage container for up to 3 months. Reheat from frozen in the toaster or as directed above. 

Non-Stick Skillet. Ideal for making pancakes. Griddle. A stovetop griddle is another great option for making pancakes. Mixing Bowls. The only set of mixing bowls you’ll need.

These fluffy pancakes are tasty, delightfully tender, and perfect for lazy weekends in cozy slippers.

Fruit Salad

25 mins

Egg White Frittata

25 mins

Sweet Potato Hash Browns

20 mins Leave a rating below in the comments and let me know how you liked the recipe. They also make a lovely birthday breakfast, if I do say so myself. Happy Birthday, Daddy. Love you always.

Stuffed French Toast

30 mins

Goat Cheese Quiche

1 hr 15 mins

Biscuit Cinnamon Rolls

1 hr

He was a wonderful man, a loving father, and fiercely dedicated to family game night.He tried to hold my hand in public until the age it became embarrassing, and I wouldn’t let him.He taught me to ride a bike and to drive.We used to run together; I thought we were the same pace but now I realize he slowed down for me.His favorite dessert was German chocolate cake (you can find my fave recipe for it in my cookbook).He ended every conversation with, “I love you.”He made the world’s fluffiest pancakes every Saturday morning. Fluffy Pancakes  From Scratch     WellPlated com - 4Fluffy Pancakes  From Scratch     WellPlated com - 46Fluffy Pancakes  From Scratch     WellPlated com - 35Fluffy Pancakes  From Scratch     WellPlated com - 64Fluffy Pancakes  From Scratch     WellPlated com - 64Fluffy Pancakes  From Scratch     WellPlated com - 50Fluffy Pancakes  From Scratch     WellPlated com - 10Fluffy Pancakes  From Scratch     WellPlated com - 92Fluffy Pancakes  From Scratch     WellPlated com - 9Fluffy Pancakes  From Scratch     WellPlated com - 47Fluffy Pancakes  From Scratch     WellPlated com - 65Fluffy Pancakes  From Scratch     WellPlated com - 30Fluffy Pancakes  From Scratch     WellPlated com - 65Fluffy Pancakes  From Scratch     WellPlated com - 69Fluffy Pancakes  From Scratch     WellPlated com - 88Fluffy Pancakes  From Scratch     WellPlated com - 14Fluffy Pancakes  From Scratch     WellPlated com - 23Fluffy Pancakes  From Scratch     WellPlated com - 15Fluffy Pancakes  From Scratch     WellPlated com - 11Fluffy Pancakes  From Scratch     WellPlated com - 50Fluffy Pancakes  From Scratch     WellPlated com - 27Fluffy Pancakes  From Scratch     WellPlated com - 34