Ben and I moved to a new city last Wednesday, and as much as I’d love to tell you that 48 hours later, I was wearing a cute apron pulling a steaming coq au vin from the oven, in truth, we don’t even have Internet yet (hi from Starbucks!). We’ve been madly shopping Labor Day furniture sales, instead of unpacking silly things like real silverware. We are living off of Qdoba (eaten with plastic forks), and I suspect that my aprons are packed in a low-priority box marked “Christmas décor.” Note to everyone prepping for a move: If you have an item you want to be able to find right away in your new home, mark its box “wine opener.” Peanut Butter Banana Toast with Granola and Honey is hardly a recipe, but that doesn’t make it any less satisfying or scrumptious. It’s healthy and filling, crunchy and creamy, and especially gratifying when eaten from paper towels while sitting on one’s kitchen counter.

No matter where or how you eat your toast, good bread is essential. Our kitchen may lack plates, but I’m pleased to report that we do have a loaf of excellent artisan bread because, priorities. Our kitchen also has bananas, because bananas are ubiquitous. I moved 60 miles, and my bananas followed me from my old kitchen counter to my new kitchen counter. At least some things in life are reliable. This is an acceptable place to stop our toast-topping. Peanut butter banana toast is simple, consistently yummy, and makes an excellent breakfast or desperation dinner. Or, we could throw on a handful of granola for its oaty crunch and a generous drizzle of honey for its sweetness and peanut butter-banana flavor harmony. I think you know the right thing to do. From my messy, sticky kitchen to you, with love: Peanut Butter Banana Toast with Granola and Honey. A very heartfelt THANK YOU to all of you for your kind comments, emails, and Facebook notes about our move. I’m sorry I haven’t been able to respond to everyone individually—we’ve been without Internet and will continue to be for the next few days. Please know how much I appreciate your thoughts and support! They mean the world, and I’d love nothing more than to serve you the most perfect slice of Peanut Butter Banana Toast with Granola and Honey in appreciation. Truly, you are the best!

Peanut Butter Banana Toast with Granola and Honey - 90Peanut Butter Banana Toast with Granola and Honey - 71Peanut Butter Banana Toast with Granola and Honey - 26Peanut Butter Banana Toast with Granola and Honey - 63Peanut Butter Banana Toast with Granola and Honey - 77Peanut Butter Banana Toast with Granola and Honey - 16Peanut Butter Banana Toast with Granola and Honey - 98Peanut Butter Banana Toast with Granola and Honey - 36