If I had nine lives, one of them would be spent running a bright, hip, and only semi-pretentious neighborhood cafe. We’d have excellent coffee, green smoothies, and killer pastries. We’d sell wine. Best of all, the menu would be packed with vibrant, healthy “bowls” of all kinds. Our best seller? This teriyaki salmon bowl. I can see it now. You come in the morning with your laptop to “work,” linger through lunch, and then convince your friends with real jobs to join you for happy hour after they get off at 5. Basically, you’d never want to leave…and I would go out of business. Maybe I should stick to the kitchen. Since there are numerous reasons any restaurant I’d run would likely be doomed to bankruptcy, I’ll content myself with making the kinds of dishes I’d put on my menu at home: recipes filled with bright, bold flavors that manage to be healthy, delicious, and completely satisfying at the same time. This teriyaki salmon bowl is a perfect example.

How to Make a Teriyaki Salmon Bowl

I especially love bowl recipes like this one (or this Buddha Bowl) because it offers every food group in a single meal: protein, veggies, and whole grains—the gang is all here! PLUS, the ingredients are flexible—allowing you to use whatever you have on hand in your kitchen.

Ingredients

Salmon. Loaded with omega-3 fatty acids salmon is my favorite protein to pair with teriyaki (I submit this Teriyaki Salmon, which has a similar flavor profile, as evidence).Quinoa. I love using quinoa in recipes that traditionally call for white rice because they’re filling, packed with protein and provide a serving of wholesome whole grains.Low-Sodium Soy Sauce. Serves as the base for this homemade teriyaki sauce that’s sweet, spiced, and sassy all at the same time.Honey. An alternative to gobs of brown sugar or corn syrup, I opted for honey to naturally sweeten the sauce.Rice Vinegar. Provides vital acidity to balance the salty soy sauce and sweet honey.Garlic and Ginger. This dynamic duo is essential for making this homemade teriyaki sauce taste just like your favorite classic takeout recipe (like this Instant Pot Chicken Teriyaki).Red Pepper Flakes. Provides a little zip and heat.Fresh or Frozen Veggies. Use whatever you have on hand. I did a blend of carrots, red bell peppers, and kale, but if you have others you prefer or need to use up, go for it!

Directions

Storage Tips

To Store. Store leftover quinoa and leftover stir-fry veggies separately in the refrigerator for up to 4 days. I find salmon tastes best the day it is made, but you can refrigerate the leftovers for 1 additional day.To Reheat. Gently reheat quinoa and veggies in a large skillet over medium-low heat or in the microwave until warmed through. I recommend enjoying the leftover salmon at room temperature versus reheating it to make sure it doesn’t dry out.I reheated the leftover quinoa and veggies until they were very hot, and then topped them with the room temperature-ish salmon, and it was delicious.

More Delicious Salmon Recipes

Soy Ginger SalmonBaked Salmon in FoilAnd all these other delicious Healthy Salmon Recipes! Salmon Bowl  with Quinoa and Homemade Teriyaki    WellPlated com - 71Salmon Bowl  with Quinoa and Homemade Teriyaki    WellPlated com - 42Salmon Bowl  with Quinoa and Homemade Teriyaki    WellPlated com - 15Salmon Bowl  with Quinoa and Homemade Teriyaki    WellPlated com - 41Salmon Bowl  with Quinoa and Homemade Teriyaki    WellPlated com - 10Salmon Bowl  with Quinoa and Homemade Teriyaki    WellPlated com - 64