Back then, I didn’t give a second thought to the nutritional value of what I was eating or drinking. As an adult, I am more aware of the ingredients I put into my body. A few weeks ago on an especially hot day, I caught myself craving a mocha Frappuccino. Rather than hitting the drive-thru, I decided to see if I could come up with my own healthy Starbucks Mocha Frappuccino recipe (just like I did with this Mint Smoothie that tastes just like a McDonald’s Shamrock Shake).

About This Mocha Frappuccino

The results of my Frappuccino experiment: success! This healthy Starbucks copycat recipe is:

Rich and chocolaty.Just as refreshing as the original.Made of wholesome, real ingredients.Ready in less than 5 minutes (like these other quick smoothie recipes).

How to Make a Starbucks Mocha Frappuccino

Making a healthy, homemade mocha Frappucino couldn’t be easier. Keep some extra brewed coffee on hand in your fridge (I’ve started brewing a little extra in the morning) so you can whip one up anytime a Frapp craving strikes.

The Ingredients

Coffee. The coffee portion is nothing fancier than strong coffee that I brewed in my regular coffee pot then chilled in the refrigerator. Feel free to use regular or decaf to suit your preference.Cocoa Powder. Unsweetened cocoa powder provides that essential chocolate flavor without adding sugar.Banana. Used in place of sugary syrup, a frozen banana does a remarkable job making this Frappuccino thick, frothy, and naturally sweet.Chia Seeds. These little nutritional powerhouses give the Mocha Frappuccino an extra boost.Agave. Adds just enough extra sweetness to fool you into thinking your drinking the real thing.Toppings. Customize your Frap just as you would at Starbucks with chocolate syrup, whipped cream, or even mini chocolate chips if you’re feeling extra indulgent.

The Directions

Make Ahead Tips

To Make Ahead. This mocha Frappuccino is best enjoyed immediately after its made. For a head start on the recipe, brew your coffee up to 1 day in advance and store it in the refrigerator in an airtight container.

This Peach Smoothie is another post-workout favorite.

Starbucks Mocha Frappuccino  Healthy Copycat Recipe    WellPlated com - 72Starbucks Mocha Frappuccino  Healthy Copycat Recipe    WellPlated com - 38Starbucks Mocha Frappuccino  Healthy Copycat Recipe    WellPlated com - 22Starbucks Mocha Frappuccino  Healthy Copycat Recipe    WellPlated com - 61Starbucks Mocha Frappuccino  Healthy Copycat Recipe    WellPlated com - 48Starbucks Mocha Frappuccino  Healthy Copycat Recipe    WellPlated com - 36